May 5, 2015 Columbus City Primary Race

People often ask me who a Libertarian should vote for in various political races such as the upcoming May 5, 2015 Primary.  While I’d advise people to vote for Libertarian candidates while available, sometimes none are available in a given race.

Luckily, public sentiments seem to be leaning more libertarian – so there are votes to be won for the establishment parties by running candidates who stake out libertarian positions on key issues.

Over the years it seems like the World’s Smallest Political Quiz (WSPQ) has been as good an indicator of libertarian philosophy of a person as any, so I tend to use it to get a quick overview of where a candidate stands.

With that in mind, I obtained the campaign email addresses for all of the candidates in this year’s Columbus City Council and Columbus Mayor’s race.  I wanted to find Columbus School Board candidate emails as well but too few of them had phone, email, or websites listed.

I’m listing the candidates, WSPQ score (if they responded to my request – a perfect score is 100/100 on Personal/Economic freedoms) and their campaign Twitter and email accounts in case you’d like to ask them questions before you cast your vote.  Candidates who responded will also have a clickable name with details of their response.

Here’s the list of candidates for this year’s May Primary.

Columbus Mayor

Name

WSPQ Score

Twitter

Email

Terry A. Boyd

? @BoydforColumbus northcoastboyd@gmail.com

Jeff
Brown

?   jbrown75n@gmail.com

Andrew J.
Ginther

? @AndrewGinther andrew@andrewginther.com

Selina R.Miller

?   selinamiller7@hotmail.com

James C.Ragland

? @Ragland4Mayor ragland4mayor@gmail.com

Zach
Scott

? @ZachScott2015 scottforcolumbus@gmail.com

Columbus City Council

Name

WSPQ Score

Twitter

Email

Orie
Givens
?   ideasfororie@gmail.com
Zach
Klein
? @zmklein zach@zachklein.org
Kiwan R.
Lawson
?   FriendsForKiwanLawson@gmail.com
Michelle M.Mills ?   michellemarle.mills8@gmail.com
Jaiza
Page
? @Jaiza_Page jaiza.page@gmail.com
Will
Petrik
? @WillPetrik will@willpetrik.org
John
Rush
? @Citizens4Rush john@citizensforrush.com
Besmira
Sharrah
?   bsharra@gmail.com
Ibrahima
Sow
? @VoteSow2015 votesow@gmail.com
Dimitrious
Stanley
? @Dimitrious4cbus stanleyforcolumbuscouncil@gmail.com
Michael Stinziano 80/30 @Stinziano mstinziano@citizensforstinziano.com

If you’re one of the candidates listed, and didn’t receive my initial email, feel free to contact me via Skype and I’d be happy to re-send it.